06
Dec
10

MapGuide on Linux – Easy as walking

While speaking at Autodesk University this year in Las Vegas, someone in my class asked about how easy is it to install MapGuide on Linux.  Since I hadn’t done it for a while,  ( MapGuide Open Source 2.0 on Fedora was my last attempt (successful by the way)), I decided to give it a try today.

I cheated a little and downloaded a pre-made CENTOS 5.4 image from http://www.thoughtpolice.co.uk/ 

Then I stuck the MapGuide Enterprise 2011 DVD into the virtual drive and an install page opened in Firefox.

I clicked on each install and… nothing.  Ok that part wasn’t easy as walking, so I looked at the source code and decided to install the FDO, Server and Web Extensions (all 3) manually.

This part was fairly easy.  I browsed to EF/Linux/Fdo/ and double clicked on “install” – chose Run in Terminal.

I did the same for:

EF/Linux/Server/
EF/Linux/Web/

And all I had to do was start MapGuide and Apache and I was up and running.

In a Terminal Window, browse to:
/opt/Autodesk/mapguideenterprise2011/server/bin/ and enter:  ./mgserverd.sh

Then browse to:
/opt/Autodesk/mapguideenterprise2011/webserverextensions/apache2/bin/ and enter: ./apachectl start

And just to prove it to myself that everything worked, I loaded some SHP files using MapGuide Studio connecting to that CENTOS 5.4 machine.

Easy as walking (well it’s a little slippery and snowy in Guelph today).

26 Responses to “MapGuide on Linux – Easy as walking”


  1. 1 Aaron Lyon
    December 8, 2010 at 1:28 am

    I’m the one that asked that question at AU about installing to a linux server. Thanks for responding. I have been trying to install mapguide to a linux box for awhile now. Here is what I have now: Centos 5.5, Mapguide 2.1 off of the open source website, and FDO 3.5 off of the open source also. I do not have a copy of Mapguide Enterprise like you have suggested above. Maybe that is what i need to get this to work. I’m still having a tough time compiling the make file to install Mapguide. If you have any tips I would appreciate it. You should still have my business card if calling is easier. Any help would be great.

    Aaron Lyon

  2. December 8, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I haven’t tried the Open Source version lately. But if you can, try the Enterprise Edition. It was as easy as I have listed above. You do not need to compile the code.

  3. 3 Aaron Lyon
    December 8, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I was trying to get away without buying Enterprise Edition. But if that is the way to do it I will call my reseller.

  4. December 8, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    I am sure it is possible, I just haven’t tried with the latest version of the Open Source on Linux. Perhaps I will give it a go this week…

  5. 5 Aaron Lyon
    December 8, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    That would be great I keep getting stuck on dependency.

  6. December 9, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I downloaded the MapGuide 2.2 Beta http://trac.osgeo.org/mapguide/wiki/Release/2.2Beta/Notes, unzipped the tar balls, and ran the ./mgserverd.sh and ./apachectl start – it seems to work great. I think my test CENTOS 5.4 from ThoughtPolice must have all the dependancies.

  7. 7 Micheal
    January 12, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I have Enterprise 2011 installed on CentOS 5.4. It is working fine except for one issue. The raster FDO has failed while the MySQL, SHP and SDF FDO’s are functioning properly. Provider list xml file is accurate and library files are properly placed. It is generating two errors: 1. Invalid resource ID and 2. An exception occurred in the FDO component, cannot load library. Did you have any similar issues? Any troubleshooting suggestions?

  8. January 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Hi, you may not have the libraries for the Raster. Check out the http://trac.osgeo.org/gdal/wiki

  9. 9 Michael
    January 12, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Gordon,

    We, are using Mapduide Enterprixe. The raster fdo is the autodesk proprietary. The xxfrp.so files are loaded.

  10. January 12, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    Ok, I am not sure what the issue might be – did you migrate from another version or did you load the Raster from scratch?

  11. 11 Michael
    January 12, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    loaded from disc.

  12. 12 Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    this is from the error log for the autocad raster fdo failure. Any thoughts?

    StackTrace:
    – MgFeatureServiceHandler.ProcessOperation() line 83 file FeatureServiceHandler.cpp
    – MgOpGetClasses.Execute() line 105 file OpGetClasses.cpp
    – MgServerDescribeSchema.GetClasses() line 923 file ServerDescribeSchema.cpp
    – MgFdoConnectionManager.Open() line 308 file FdoConnectionManager.cpp

  13. January 13, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Hi Michael,
    I am getting a similar error as well. I am going to have to look into the build a little further.

  14. 14 Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    I have mapguide 2011 windows version on my laptop. My coworker noticed from the mapagent html a sligt difference in the getfeatureproviders xml data for the raster provider in the windows xml than that of the centos xml: the windows side had connection properties as well a name and localized name where centos file did not. Do not know if that is a problem. fyi.

  15. 15 Michael
    January 14, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Gordon,

    Below was queried from mapagent for GetFeatureProviders. from our server with Centos install.


    Autodesk.Raster.3.5
    Autodesk FDO Provider for Raster
    Read access to various raster-based file formats. Supports georeferenced file-based raster images, DEM files and 3D grid surfaces.
    3.5.0.0
    3.5.0.0

    Below was copied from http://www.osgeo.org/files/mapguide/docs/webapi/d3/db7/group___connection_to_feature_source.htm showing example for connection string.

    Autodesk.RFP.1.0

    DefaultRasterFileLocation
    MG_DATA_FILE_PATH%

    In my windows install, the same mapagent query shows below.
    – Autodesk.Raster.3.5 Autodesk FDO Provider for Raster Read access to various raster-based file formats. Supports georeferenced file-based raster images, DEM files and 3D grid surfaces. 3.5.0.0 3.5.0.0 – – DefaultRasterFileLocation DefaultRasterFileLocation
    Is the 1st example complete since a raster has not been successfully loaded? Or is it incomplete. Can you explain what %MG_DATA_FILE_PATH% needs to be. Should there be a
    path here? Where does, in example 3, DefaultRasterFileLocation come from. I read that it is required for a successful connection.
    Do any path’s need to be specified in the config.xml files?

  16. 16 Michael
    January 14, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Gordon,

    We are contimplating going to Windows Server 2008 r2. We want to install MG on the windows server, but run the web server extensions in a Centos os on a vm. Do you have any experience or knowledge of this type of set up?

  17. 17 Michael
    January 16, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Gordon,
    When using mapagent, quering getfeatureproviders, the autocad raster provider is missing connections paramater elements, the default file location lines are missing. Could this prevent the libraries from loading when trying to connect to the feature source in studio.

    Where is the file located that the mapagent is querying for the getfeatureproviders. Can it be modified?

  18. January 17, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I haven’t tried speading the server/webserver extensions across VMServers but just put everything on a single VM for testing. If the PORTS and IPs are set correctly, you should not have any issues.

  19. 19 Mahesh jadhav
    September 10, 2011 at 6:05 am

    i am using mapguide opensource 2.2 from mapguide site on Red Hat 5.5 i am not able to view raster and connect to postgres/postgis.The postgres /Postgis provider gives FDO error 559 while creating new data connection of postgis/postgres. The Gdal connection for Raster gets created ,test connection is sucessful but when i view the fusion the raster layer is not getting rendered..

    can you help me out in this

  20. September 12, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Hi, I have not tried Postgis on Linux. I would repost your question to nabble.com http://osgeo-org.1803224.n2.nabble.com/MapGuide-Users-f1803227.html

  21. 21 Mahesh Jadhav
    September 13, 2011 at 3:46 am

    Can you help me out in raster i am not able to view raster too

  22. 23 Mahesh Jadhav
    September 13, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Thanks for you support for Raster.
    I did get the solution it was installing gdal 1.6.0 in Linux

  23. 24 Mahesh Jadhav
    September 13, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Can you help me out in mgrest or georest i want to edit spatial data online………

  24. 25 Mahesh Jadhav
    November 8, 2011 at 7:18 am

    hey i am not able to access postgres from mapguide in centos..there is a fdo error, unable to load library 8.erro 559 can you help me out ..please….

  25. November 8, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Hi Mahesh,
    I would recommend posting that to the MapGuide User group.
    http://osgeo-org.1803224.n2.nabble.com/MapGuide-Users-f1803227.html


Leave a Reply

Gordon Luckett

Arrow Geomatics Inc's Gordon Luckett

Contact

gordon dot luckett at arrowgeo dot com 1-519-837-9500 (Arrow Geomatics Inc.)

Checkout MapGuide Guy’s Youtube Channel

gordonluckett@twitter


